I Dreamed A Dream In Time Gone By

Wednesday was such an eye-opener to me. I usually don’t pay much attention to my NSTP class. I’d usually just wait ever so patiently (And difficult, it is) for the three hours to go by so I can finally get on with life. But this particular session touched my heart. Our topic in class was “social responsibility” and so we watched a few videos showing different contemporary heroes taking risks and devoting their hearts for the betterment of their fellow men. I was especially touched by CNN hero, Narayanan Krishnan’s story. Imagine a guy, a well-renowned chef at a five star hotel, living the life, but suddenly gives up his job and dedicates his skill and his heart to feeding the poor. “I saw a very old man eating his own human waste for food. It really hurt me so much. I was literally shocked for a second. After that, I started feeding that man and decided this is what I should do for the rest of my life”. I think that statement says it all. It’s really heart-crushing to see people on the streets, with nowhere to go, no food to relieve their hunger and not even a single person who cares for them. We stop for a second and are crushed by the sight, but after that, we move on with life as if we didn’t see anything. I’m actually guilty of this. I can’t even bear to look at these people. Maybe because a part of me wants to do something yet another part’s asking how. Yet people like Narayanan Krishnan braved all the uncertainty and did what was right. I was greatly inspired after our class. And to top it off, we watched the very much talked about film adaptation of Victor Hugo’s masterpiece, Les Miserables, later in the evening. I’ve never appreciated a musical as much as I loved this movie. I’m deeply grateful to our school for sponsoring and having us all watch it.

So, this was what I wore that day…

IMG_8179

My new closet staple. I love how this skirt is body-hugging and how it falls just above the knee. Not too short nor too long.

IMG_8168

printed tank – Artwork
bondage skirt – Forever 21
bag – Topshop

IMG_8180

My tribal necklace is from Yhansy

IMG_8183

Round sunnies from Fayeness shop

IMG_8174

IMG_8212

Les Miserables is a must watch! I am not exaggerating at all. If you haven’t seen it yet, go. Now

IMG_8195

We waited six hours after our class to watch the movie. It was worth all the pains of waiting, though.

Photos by Mina Cruzada

Leave a comment

Filed under Fashion, Slice of Life

Leave a Reply

